Home News APC primary: Sorting, counting underway

APC primary: Sorting, counting underway

The sorting of votes by national delegates has commenced at the presidential primary election of the All Progressives Congress.

The ballot casting exercise to determine the fate of aspirants, which was carried out by 2,340 delegates, started at about 2.40 am and at 7.45 am.

The six-hour voting process ended with a few delegates still hanging around in a near-empty field of Eagle Square.

However, feelers from the convention ground in Abuja indicated that the battle for the sole presidential ticket is still down to Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello; the National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

The winner is expected to be declared in a few hours.

Fourteen aspirants are still in the race.

They include Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Gov. Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Gov. Yahaya Bello, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Sen. Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmad Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr Rotimi Amaechi and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.

About Post Author